HASTINGS & DISTRICT BADMINTON LEAGUE

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of The Hastings & District Badminton League held at the Cornwallis Suite, Horntye Sports Centre on Tuesday 30th August 2016 at 7.30 pm.

The meeting was chaired by Elissa Seddon

Present:

All registered clubs save for Cranbrook were represented. Hailsham and Battle would not be entering teams in the league this season.

1. Apologies:

Rena Jones (Cranbrook)

2. Minutes:

The minutes of the previous AGM (2015) were circulated to club secretaries prior to the meeting.

3. Matters Arising:

There were no matters arising and the minutes were passed as correct.

4. Correspondence:

None

5. Chairman's Report.

Elissa thanked everyone for attending. There had been no major issues arising through the season and any issues were dealt with without the need to call a meeting. She asked all clubs to encourage junior players as they would form the backbone of the league in the future.

6. Treasurer's Report:

Martine presented the report and copies of the accounts were distributed to those present. The accounts showed a balance of £2,427.02p

Peter Daubny proposed agreeing the accounts, this was seconded by Tim Leakey and agreed unanimously.

Les proposed that considering the balance League fees be waived this season and this was agreed unanimously.

7. Match Secretary's Report:

Alex reported that the majority fixtures had been completed and that results were being uploaded in good time. He told the meeting that the web site was working well and was user friendly. He proposed that we should continue with the present site and this was agreed unanimously.

8. League Trophy Presentations:

Elissa presented the trophies. Men's 1 - CSSA, Men's 2 – Hasting Juniors Ladies - St Johns Mixed 1 - St Johns, Mixed 2 – Homewood, Mixed 3 – Cooden

9. Election of Officers:

There were no nominations received prior to the meeting. The current committee:

Elissa Seddon, (Chair). Les Rowley, (Secretary). Alex Godfrey, (Match Secretary). Martine Harpum- standing down, (Treasurer). Elected members: Phil Jones, Alan Harman, and Doreen Mackey.

From the meeting, the following nomination was received

Treasurer - Mark Bright

All were elected unanimously

10. Any Other Business.

League Structure 2016/17 Season

Cooden and Hastings Juniors were entering teams in the Ladies Division.

Artic Spa wished to enter a team in the Men's Division – because of the strength of their players it was agreed to enter them in Division1.

Hastings Juniors entered a 'B' team in Men's Division 2.

HASTINGS & DISTRICT BADMINTON LEAGUE

Because of the withdrawal of Battle & Hailsham it was decided that Mixed Divisions 2 & 3 should be merged and this was agreed.
Alex confirmed the details of each division.
Meeting closed at 1950

The fixture meeting followed.